Home > Goals > Reflecting on my first 30 days

Reflecting on my first 30 days

So, a month ago, I decided I would FINALLY get serious about writing again.  I would make time and get all the millions of thoughts that run through my head out for others to share.  What an experience it has been!  There has been so much fulfillment, encouragement, and growth in one month!  I wish I could say I wrote as often as I wanted to or that I was as successful, articulate, and prepared as I would like to have been.  But I didn’t and I wasn’t… but that is OK!  I made major strides, stayed with my commitment and now have a long list of blog ideas and feel empowered to continue!

I remember the first day I let it loose… I was THRILLED to be getting a consistent 50ish hits a day.  I know that is SUCH small potatoes for a website, but this was brand-spankin-new and just about me.  Then, I started breaking 100 consistently!  One day I even had 406!!  Over the entire first 30 days I had over 2200 hits!  That means that people felt compelled to see what I had to say at least 2200 times!  That is a real honor!  I hope to watch the viewership grow and develop over the next few months.  My GOAL is to have one month with 25,000 hits by the end of 2010!  That will take a lot of work and dedication, but I love this!!

One thing I learned this month was that in the blogging world, it isn’t just about what you write on your own blog, it is about joining the conversation.  I have met (virtually) some WONDERFUL and talented women (and men) this month and am amazed by the conversations being had on twitter, blogs, and elsewhere.  It is a true community that is built by taking the time to share your thoughts on your own site and then visiting others and creating that dialogue.  One of the great examples of this was momalom.com‘s 5 for 10 experiment.  Those of us that took part committed to spend at least 5 minutes a day for 10 days on their blog (and others if we chose) and they would do the same.  This encouraged us all to step out and see what others were talking about and join the conversations.  It was a major success, opened me up to many new bloggers, and increased my own readership a lot. I have also taken part in the Wordless Wednesday blog carnival and the Not Me Monday blog carnival.  These are great to keep the blog fresh and meet new bloggers regularly.  I will be doing another new carnival from Momalom called the Half-drunk Challenge… I am a little scared… blogging tipsy?  YIKES!

I also learned what an honor it is to have someone recognize publicly what you are doing and saying.  This happened three times for me in this first month!  Again, WHAT AN HONOR!  First, PhDinParenting highlighted a blog I wrote during her week long commitment to more reading and commenting on people’s sites.  She would list on her blog where she visited that day and pick a few to highlight.  Her blog is a very respected resource for MANY people so it was a huge honor to receive such a notation from her.  Next, Birthing Magazine featured a link to a post of mine on their Facebook page with over 400 fans!  And finally, Best for Babes, an organization that is focused on helping change the public perceptions of breastfeeding, mentioned me when they posted how to get involved in their ad campaign.  This wasn’t in reference to my own writing or anything, but it was an honor to be credited as helping them with their movement.  These recognitions mean so much to me personally and for the growth of my blog.

During this month I have tried to cover many diverse topics that I am interested in (almost all come back to breastfeeding).  I have written about books, breastfeeding, toilet learning, reflection, nestle, and activism.  I have learned some about marketing myself too.  One thing I love about the blogging world is that it is more about building the relationship than just flat marketing.  People see my link when I comment and post elsewhere, but it is secondary to what I have to say.

In my life, I have grown quite a bit this month.  I learned how truly persistent my son is, perhaps more than any other human being I have met.  I learned that, because of this, I have to let go of all I have tried to hold on to as a “typical parent”.  Typical parenting isn’t what he needs.  He needs to have more control, more respect, more choice in his life.  He needs more guidance, more understanding, and more patience.  I have to trust him to grow and mature at his own pace and listen to his needs first.  I have to continue to grow so that I can be the mother he needs.  I lack the patience and creativity he really needs from me.

I have also learned this month that I AM on the right path.  Every turn has been a reassurance that I need to follow my heart.  I haven’t answered all my questions about how to make the needed changes, but I know I will. (RN or no RN??)  It feels great to be building myself up each day and being able to also reflect on where I have been.  I am looking forward to continuing with my writing and seeing where it takes me with each new post!  Thank you to everyone who has taken the time to read, comment, and revisit!  I hope you will continue the journey with me!!

Share

Categories: Goals Tags: , , , ,
  1. Aly
    December 7, 2009 at 1:30 AM

    Well done you! I don’t know how you do it.I’ve blogging almost a year and I’ve got less then 5 subscribers.Thinking about it I’ve hardly talked about breastfeeding on my blog.I think I should fix that.I hope you get your target and inspire more people to breastfeed and to keep going.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

