Home > Family, Parenting > Surprise Gifts

Surprise Gifts

Usually this would be a Wordless Wednesday post, but I have too many words about what I am sharing.  We have started a family tradition where Aaron’s best friend, Jeremy, visits us for Christmas.  This past year he came and brought his girlfriend and her son, Xavier.  It was a real treat because Xavier is very close to M’s age and very much like him when it comes to personality.  We spent the day together at my in-law’s as the boys got to know each other.  Then that night we came home and stayed up late laughing and playing.  It was one of the most perfect evenings of my life as a mother.  M was full of smiles and just giddy with joy.  They danced, jumped, ran, hugged, tickled, shared.  It was amazing.  M is our only child so to see him connect so well with another child was amazing.

This week Jeremy and Ashlee came to visit again for a day and Jeremy had a surprise.  He had created a video of the evening and set it to music.  It is incredible!  Jeremy is the most talented video guy I know.  He recently had a great success with a music video he completed.  I was so excited when he said he had made a video.  Below is what he put together.

Keep an eye out for our niece, Lilia, M’s break dancing, and a spitting dinosaur!

Each time I watch it I get choked up.  It is so amazing and completely captures the joy of that day.  You can see M and X in the beginning, a little unsure of each other.  You can hear the laughter and joy.  And as it continues you watch two little boys forge a friendship.  It truly was one of the best nights of my life.  I was so thrilled to see my little guy having so much fun and I felt like I was literally watching him grow and mature before my eyes.  It really captures the essence of what I hope M’s childhood is.  These are the types of memories I hope he holds on to.  This will bring smiles (and some tears) to me for a long time.

Thank you Jeremy, for being so incredibly thoughtful and talented and for capturing a few moments of my son’s life that I am so glad to have forever!

Share

  1. Kimberly Olivares
    March 25, 2010 at 2:24 PM

    Very nice. I love the booty shaking. M is getting so big and really coming into his own; it is fun to witness from a distance but I’m wondering how different my life is going to be in a few short weeks with a new little boy in the house. I don’t have any clue about boys so I’m sure I’ll be calling with questions. Love you Baby Cuz!

    • March 26, 2010 at 11:18 AM

      I had no idea what to do with a boy either. They teach you! (BTW I literally didn’t change a diaper for 2 weeks cause I was scared!!! haha!!) You will be a great mommy to Briles!

      I am so proud of M. There are rough times like we are going through now, but just watching this makes me realize how incredibly special he is. He is so bright and sweet. I am a lucky momma!

  2. Nathan Byrer
    March 25, 2010 at 5:12 PM

    That is a great video. Jeremy is quite talented. I wish I could produce video like that. What camera did Jeremy use?

    • March 25, 2010 at 6:37 PM

      He uses a canon 7D digital SLR. Amazing isn’t it? He had just gotten it and was goofing around.

  3. Adam Duvall
    March 25, 2010 at 8:46 PM

    Wow. That video was amazing. Very nice work. Adorable shots of Maddox. Loved the rocket scene and the break dancing.

    • March 26, 2010 at 11:19 AM

      Thanks Adam! I think he did an awesome job! We are lucky to have Jeremy as a friend!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

